McGarrigle Announces $250,000 in New School Safety and Security Grants

Harrisburg – Ten area school districts were awarded state grants today to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Tom McGarrigle (R-26).

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to schools for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000. Local grant recipients include:

Chester County

  • Great Valley School District
  • Tredyffrin-Easttown School District 

Delaware County

  • Interboro School District
  • Marple Newtown School District
  • Ridley School District
  • Rose Tree Media School District
  • Springfield School District
  • Upper Darby School District
  • Wallingford-Swarthmore School District
  • William Penn School District

“The reason I worked with my colleagues to make these grants available is that students, teachers and staff need to feel safe for schools to do their jobs,” McGarrigle said. “I also felt it was important that school districts be given an array of options to use these funds on, so that they can pick the approach that works best for their schools.”

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety.

More information on the General Assembly’s efforts to improve school safety measures is available online at

CONTACT:    Mike Rader (717) 787-1305